About Us

Clay County State Bank

Clay County State Bank was organized September 13, 1905 as a direct result of a group of local individuals, who met to discuss the possibility of creating a new bank, whose primary purpose would be to serve the community and the surrounding area by providing banking services.  Those members were W.H. Dillman, C.S. Erwin, J.H. Moore, J.C. Bible and J.L. McKnight.

The members of the first Board of Directors were Lewis Dillman, A.H. Moore, J. H. Smith, C.S. Erwin, P.N. Smith, B.F. Scaife, W.D. Dillman, W.A. Harmon, and Thomas Abel.

The first President of the bank was Lewis Dillman.  More recent bank Presidents have been James W. Cogswell, I.E. (Ebert) Ikemire, James W. Dawkins, James E. Pottorff, and Daniel N. Schoonover.  The current bank President is Jon R. (Randy) Wells.

The bank was originally funded with $25,000 derived from the initial sale of bank stock.  The original stockholders were professional men, business men and farmers.  The bank has experienced significant growth during its tenure.

The bank operates as a privately owned corporation with a number of shareholders from the surrounding area.

Hours & Locations


Clay County State Bank
111 North Church Street
PO Box 248
Louisville, IL  62858

Phone: (618) 665-3314
Fax: (618) 665-3619


Lobby Hours
Monday – Thursday
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


Drive-Up Hours
Monday – Thursday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

Officers & Directors


Jon R. Wells, President
Greg Perry, Vice President
Troy L. Fender, Vice President
Christina L. Smith, Vice President & Cashier
Jody Holkenbrink, Asst. Cashier
Holli Schultz, Asst. Cashier


Jon R. Wells, Chairman
Marilyn D. Brant
Troy L. Fender
Michael Frost
Daniel N. Schoonover
John R. Zink

24 Hour Banking

Night Deposit Box & ATM

Night Deposit box is located in the bank drive-thru.  ATM is located in the lower bank parking lot.

Time & Temperature

Phone Number: 618-665-3334